top of page

Informing the Halton Suicide Prevention Coalition Priorities

CCBR is collaborating with the Halton Suicide Prevention Coalition (HSPC) to gain a better understanding of suicide prevention needs in Halton. The HSPC project Working Group is composed of community agency representatives and volunteers knowledgeable in the field of suicide prevention. They have embraced a community-based approach to determining their organizational priorities, to address suicide awareness, prevention, intervention, and postvention.


HSPC members include: Halton Region Health Department, Canadian Mental Health Association, Halton District School Board, Halton Catholic District School Board, Oakville Public Library, ADAPT, ROCK, Halton Healthcare, Distress Centre Halton, Halton Regional Police, Heartache2Hope, LHIN, YMCA.


CCBR will help the Working Group to review existing literature, engage in a research ethics process, and conduct focus groups and interviews with knowledgeable service providers and folks with lived experience. Together, we will investigate the regional data concerning priority populations, means, risks and protective factors, as well as gaps in data and community services.



bottom of page